Medical Billing and Coding (MBCS) Certification Exam


  • Comprehensive, nationwide certification program for Medical Billing and Coding Specialists
  • Covers ICD-9, ICD-10, CPT and HCPCS
  • Consists of 150 questions subdivided into 4 categories
  • Exam must be passed with a score of 75% or better to be certified
  • Exam fee: $199.95


Questions? 714-367-6193

About the Exam

The Medical Billing and Coding exam consists of 150 questions and covers the following areas:

  • ICD-9
  • ICD-10
  • Human Anatomy

MBCS Exam Cost

The exam has a one-time fee of $199.95


In order to be eligible to take the MBCS Certification Exam, you must complete and pass the MBCS Course (ID: M103)

The MBCS Certification

Through rigorous examination and experience, certified MBCS specialists have demonstrated knowledge of the medical billing and coding process, including knowing how to classify medical procedures into codes and how to locate codes for the four major code bases: ICD 9, ICD 10, CPT and HCPCS. Understanding medical billing and coding is central to the operations of modern hospitals and medical offices.

Certified MBCS Specialists have demonstrated:

  • Understanding of the various types of insurance plans
  • Application of payer policy, Local Coverage Determinations (LCD), and National Coverage Determinations (NCD) for successful claim submissions
  • Knowledge of CPT®, ICD-9-CM, and HCPCS Level II coding guidelines
  • Successful navigation of the varying rules and regulations applying to the healthcare industry, including HIPAA, False Claims Act, Fair Debt Collections Act, and Stark
  • Understanding of the life cycle of a medical billing claim and how to improve the revenue cycle
  • Expertise in effective claim follow-up, patient follow-up, and denial resolution